28 thoughts on “Six hours after the race, a 77-page magazine

  1. A hearty thank you! I received my ‘copy’ at 1700 gmt, or 0400 your time out there. I don’t know how you do it but I’m very grateful you do. Bloody Marvelous!

  2. I’ve just subscribed – had a quick look through and i’m really impressed. I’ll give it a proper read tomorrow.

    I’m going to have look at the archive – should keep me busy for a while!

  3. Well done Jo. It looks great. I was showing some fans the preview edition on the train out of the circuit and they were blown away. Just got to get the word out 🙂

  4. subscribed at the end of last season. Browsed the archive for a few weeks.
    this was my first post-race GP+.
    Excellent!

    JOS

  5. Great selection of photos for this issue, especially page 9 and page 12. That Ferrari on page 30 however could do with some higher relsolution…

  6. Hi Joe, congratulations for the quick release of the magazine.
    I am a second year suscriber to GP+, and I would like to let you know why.
    Your model is innovative, it demonstrates what a 3 man operation, when they are really knowledgeable and hardworking, can do.
    I know your information is credible because of the blog, it is a way for the suscribers to know that you are always on top of things, and that you know f1 inside out.
    It is a great use technology, being portable, storage efficient and ecological.
    Layout and photos are very good, so the articles.
    It is economic enough for me, and you get the money directly, without intermediares.
    Now a couple of suggestions:
    Something I like very much about GP+ is the absence of advertising (I hate paying money to buy adverts), but seeing 2-3 times the Air Asia pages is making me afraid you are going to change this. If you are going to include ads, then I think you should lower the suscription cost significantly.
    Great job and looking forward to the next issue!

  7. Hi Joe,

    you convinced me. Signed up yesterday and busy now downloading from the archive the 2010 season. I’ve noticed many details, which I’ve never read anywhere else before.

    I’m looking forward to the lunch break to indulge in Australia 2011. 🙂

    Keep up the good work!

  8. Hi Joe,

    I’m already a subscriber and have enjoyed the 2 issues I’ve received so far.

    It is astonishing that you get such a high quality publication out so quickly.

    Can I make a suggestion? (I’m going to, so a bit of a redundant question…)

    I’d love to read more analysis and opinion in the magazine, as this is what I’m really interested in (I can only speak for myself but I don’t think I’m too abnormal!).

    I obviously see the value of a race report (perhaps less so the qualifying report because that’s a bit ‘old news’ after Sunday) but if you’ve watched both sessions in full then I find it’s just treading over the same ground.

    I don’t really need to be narrated through what happened on-track because I’ve watched it like a hawk – rather, I’d love to hear more of your analysis as to why it happened and your opinion on successes / errors.

    Maybe a ‘winners/losers’ section, or a write-up of where you see everyone broken down by teams / drivers, perhaps a technical analysis section where you comment specifically on the weekend’s developments (exhaust blown diffusers / tyres / DRS / KERS etc.), what worked for who and why etc.

    As this was the first GP of the season, I do understand that it’s tough to draw big conclusions without going down the road of blind speculation! I also understand that to get a magazine out in a few hours with a big tech analysis section is probably pushing it a bit!

    Anyway, please don’t take this the wrong way, you do a great job and I value your opinion on F1, which is why I want to hear more of it and perhaps less of a race narrative.

    Looking forward to the next GP and the next GP+

    Matt

    1. Matthew,

      Analysis is simply a distillation of facts and then intelligent guesses about what may or may not have happened. Most of the facts available are available in the first five or six hours after a race. We can talk to as many people as we can in the time available, we talk to people who have talked to people. We read all the press releases, but after about six hours there is nothing more to be added, so the ability to analyse more is irrelevant.

  9. Ok, just a thought as a new subscriber, please don’t take any of it as criticism, just a thought: What’s the rush ? 😉

    Seriously, I’ve just seen the race (Tivo’ed since I don’t live in Australia), and a few hours later, I get the magazine. It’s immensely impressive, but really, I could wait a day or 2 !

    You guys would STILL beat every F1 magazine by 5 days, you would not kill yourselves, you could even do a little more proof-reading (sorry, cheap shot, I know, it’s a joke!!!), but seriously, you could “sleep on it”.

    What I like about the blog is the thought you put into things nobody else has yet thought about. You don’t have time for this “Joe thing” if you’re gonna push a magazine out 5h after the race. In this case, what’s the deal with RB not using KERS ? What do you make of Massa’s form ? etc….

    Just sayin’, I may be in the minority, and I like the magazine (and I’m getting my money’s worth). I just wouldn’t mind waiting another day or 2 to let you come up with the stuff you come up with ! 😉

  10. Trying to watch the races on television from the US is just not compatible with family life anymore, so I am going to to spend the limited amount of time I have to follow F1 on GP+…

  11. Worth my new (and first) subscription, despite the odd typo – although thats perfectly understandable given the speed you work at!

  12. stunning work to get the magazine out. I also am loving the new look blog format on ipad. It looks sweet.

    I thought the BBC4 programme on the 60th Anniversary of F1, held in Bahrain last year, was particularly good at demonstrating the way the world has changed (for the middle East, anyway) in the last 12 months. All the sheikhs were shmoozing with the F1 glitterati and there was not a repressed underclass to be seen.

    The various collections of the champions of years gone by was so touching, when I realised all those that weren’t there.

    Saw David Tremayne last night on the F1 drivers thing on BBC4. Very good piece on lack of F1 safety in the 60s and 70s. How come Joe didn’t get a speaking part? Even Christopher Hilton was on it.

    I had never seen the footage of David Purley trying to put out the fire of the burning car of Roger Williamson. It brought tears to my eyes and sickened me to my stomach both at the same time. One of the commentators mentioned that with the introduction of sponsored cars, the sponsor wouldn’t want the publicity of a poor guy burning to death in a car with their name on the side. Jackie Stewart came across as a saint. All the drivers of that era were heroes. Chapman came across as a risk-taking git who placed little or no value on the lives of the drivers – Clark and Rindt excepted.

  13. I subscribed and I like it a lot. One question though. I download a number of the past issues in ibooks on my ipad. The url/code (or whatever) for each issue is a bunch of random letters/number. Any chance of somehow including the date or a letter code/year for each race?

  14. I found out that there will be a Marshal of the Year award, with the winner being given the award at the Gala Dinner at the end of the year.

    Would be good if you could find and pass on some more information on how the selection committee would work. I know that Herbie Blash is involved.

  15. Subscribed for the first time and the price is a bargain. I’ve been reading your blog for ages Joe so it was about time I put my hand in my pocket. Others should do the same…

  16. i subscribed for the first time this year, also having been a blog reader for the whole of last year. I felt bad at having got so much great material for free that I donated the equivalent amount to the subscription, as a thank you.

    This is a facility open to all blog readers. It doesn’t take long to do and you can use paypal.

    Where else can you get such great stuff for so little?

    If you subscribe, you get David Tremayne and loads of great photos thrown in for free!

Leave a comment