Some remarks from Mike Kimberley

In April and again in June, I reported on the developing situation at Group Lotus. This knocked a few noses out of joint at the time, but since then much of what I said was happening has proven to be true, or in the process of coming to pass. There have been some fairly major changes.

There were some comments made at the time about the management of Group Lotus before the recent management took over and Mike Kimberley, who ran the company before that, has sent me message that seeks to set the record straight about what happened.

I think it is entirely reasonable that he should be allowed his say his matter.

“Whilst I no longer have any connection with Lotus, I do feel it necessary to correct some of the major errors in the comments relating to the blog. My responses are all in the public domain already:

“1) I was categorically and publicly/privately not fired for anything related to or concerned with Litespeed/MGI’s budget capped entry or indeed fired for any reason; the truth of the matter is that I resigned due to serious back injury problems directed by my GP and consultant surgeon, which are still with me, and still being treated! I attach a copy of the formal Lotus/Proton press release put out at the time which you will find very clear and which was published worldwide.

“2) “Nicholas” is also very wrong to suggest that I was “not smart in a certain SE Asian company”. I take great exception to the assertion that I do not have the cultural sensitivity required and learned over some 55 years in the international automotive and high technology industry and operating in as many countries. As you know, I was CEO and President of two high profile global brands plus Executive VP of GMOC in Asia Pacific – you do not get to those positions without being very sensitive and extremely culturally aware. I was based in South East Asia for over three years of my career and have very many good friends in Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, India, China, Saudi Arabia, Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Japan and Korea. I pride myself on being able to do business and conduct professional relationships in any country or region globally. His comments are totally incorrect.

“3) In respect to the proven turnaround at Grand Lotus from May 2006 through to June 2009 with an operating profit in 2008; I would just point out to your correspondent (who tries to belittle the efforts of the dedicated Team at Lotus through that period) that, like anyone who wishes to know the real truth, that he spends a few pounds obtaining the Group’s company results and annual reports for that period from Companies House. QED.”

17 thoughts on “Some remarks from Mike Kimberley

  1. That’s very balanced of you Joe and entirely appropriate.

    Can I just point out that the ‘Nicholas’ referred to in point 2 isn’t me! As I’ve said before I think if MK had been around to at least steer the transition to a new plan, things might not have become quite so weird.

    As a footnote I understand Mike Kimberley had suffered with back issues for quite some time before he finally had to take medical leave.

  2. Joe:

    It would be helpful for us readers if you made available links to the comments Mr. Kimberley is responding to in order to gain some context and fully appreciate his comments.

    From what little I know about the financials at G. Lotus during MK’s tenure, I’ve always understood that he had steered the company in the right direction and profits where being generated towards the end of his time at the helm of GL. I’ve always believed that it was Bahar’s delusions of grandure where the undoing of the company.

  3. I wonder what Dany’s up to these days? Trying to flog his version of how to build a successful automotive brand to Chery or Geely, presumably. “I’ve sold monorails to Red Bull, Ferrari and Group Lotus, and it put them on the map!”

    That or selling pencils on a streetcorner somewhere…

  4. A very elegant post from you Joe; great to allow the other side’s view.

    Just read an interesting article on the Lotus situation by a guy I respect a lot – wondered what you thought of it? (Apologies if posting the link isn’t the done thing – no offence meant so feel free to delete…)

    http://pitpass.com/46803-Lotus

  5. The backstory is even more interesting. Kim Olgard Nielsen (I think that’s how it’s spelled) was in charge at Group Lotus when Mike was scheduled to visit the auto show in Detroit in 2006. For weeks I had been talking to my former Lotus colleagues (I ran PR in the U.S. from 1996-2000) about speaking to him about taking over the top spot.

    The then-head of Proton (whose name escapes me) was a good personal friend of Kimberley’s, and also wanted Mike to take charge of the company so as to put it on a proper footing. Mike, however, was reticent. He was worried about the workload, and certainly Avril, his wife, knew this would be a full-time and then some position.

    It was while taking Mike back to his hotel near my suburban Detroit home that I broached the subject of returning to Lotus. I was insistent that he not only had the opportunity to put the place in order, but to choose and nurture the next generation of leaders. This was something Lotus never had, and would help guarantee Hethel wasn’t overrun by business school types who can add and subtract, but not think. It also would allow him to control his workload, and give him a way to gracefully exit when the time came. I could tell by his enthusiasm, and his descriptions of the early phases of the Eagle project (Evora), that he still had the passion. However, it wasn’t until we were at dinner that I knew he would take the job.

    That’s because Kim Olgard Nielsen (referred to by some “Star Trek” fans within Lotus as “The Wrath of KON”) had arrived back at the hotel while we were eating. Mike was finishing up a phone call with the Proton CEO (beyond cordial, almost familial in tone), and introduced me to Nielsen, who proceeded to treat me with what only can be called disdain. When he left, Kimberley apologized, finishing with the words: “That won’t happen again if I have anything to say about it.” I knew right then he would return to Lotus.

    Mike Kimberley is a decent and moral man, and his time at Lotus was one of growth and optimism. A solid plan existed for raising the company’s image and those of its products, tightening the bond with Toyota, and developing new products that reflected these changes. When he left, the Esprit replacement was well under way (the production version was scheduled to launch at the 2012 Geneva show), and the program for the next Elise was just getting started. However, a change in management at Proton, and the introduction of Dany Bahar into the Lotus bloodstream overwhelmed its immune response.

    Undoubtedly Mr. Saward, like me, has access to numerous sources within Lotus, and has heard the many sordid tales of what has really gone on behind closed doors on Potash Lane and in Kuala Lumpur. However, without uncontrovertible evidence (in triplicate!), no one is about to peel away the layers of deceit and decay that brought Lotus to its present state.

    I worry for the approximately 1100 souls in Hethel who still believe, and hope that rumors of a methodical, long-term, and realistic plan for the company from DRB-Hicom are true. Despite the overhanging debt, there is a lot of value in the Lotus brand. I pray DRB-Hicom or another far-sighted company will have the grit and determination to unlock it.

  6. Yes the comment I would like to make is, is there anyway in stopping all the news you keep putting out, staying out of Lotus F1 team news boards?.

  7. Who cares about bahar, he really didnt care about lotus enough and deluded himself only he knew what he was doing. As for mike kimberly he may have back problems only that this statement is only very fishy, if you have nothing to hide you dont release a statement. British mp’s when they have done wrong and they have been found out they release a statement to hopefully to create a diversion of the truth. Who knows maybe there is some substance in his statement…..

    1. So.. by your rationale, anyone who ever releases a statement about anything MUST be fishy?

      Such woolly and unfounded allegations say more about the person making them than they do about anything else.

    2. Mike was the CEO of a very public and reasonably large company with many commercial links to other corporate entities. To change that position without any form of notification or statement would be considered very unusual and would make all other parties involved understandably nervous.
      To compare Mike’s conduct to that of a british MP is possibly one of the worst insults you could levy! (apart from maybe trying to draw parallels with a Banker!)

  8. I believe that there is very little that Mr Kimberly is allowed to say about his time at Lotus, or about Lotus. The avoidance of that subject in his comments sem to bear this out

  9. As an ex supplier to Lotus Cars I can tell you that Mike Kimberly was a much respected engineer and head honcho, his leaving was a great blow to the company.
    I had first dealings with Lotus in my Philips days, 40 odd years ago with the famous/infamous Dave Wynne. Then on and off with my other employers. Unfortunately Lotus seemed to make a loss all the time I dealt with them and changed owners frequently (I retired in 2002 with Lotus business going well).

    I can still remember a line from the radio fitting instructions I wrote for the Elan, it went something like 1) Disconnect battery earth cable. 2) Drop gearbox.
    (The gear lever was immediately in front of the radio position which mean the a cassette could only be inserted or removed when in 2nd or 4th) This was in the early days of in car radio/cassette combinations and as FM radio became available in car radios. A mountain (hello John) of suppression equipment was required on all GRP body cars.

  10. MJK came back to Lotus and spent 3 hard years returning the company to the best shape it had been in for a long time.
    His slimy replacement was fired after a similar time period , leaving behind him a smouldering ruin.
    I have been lucky enough to have met Mike a couple of times, he indeed does come across as a decient , honest fellow with integrity, something that not normally found in the motor industry these days.
    Please enjoy a good retirement Mike, you deserve it.
    Wayne

Leave a comment