Eoin Young 1939 – 2014

Eoin Young has died at the age of 75. Young was a trendsetter in many respects, as a founder member of the McLaren team, as a journalist and PR man and as a trader in motoring memorabilia.

Born in the village of Cave, not far from the town of Timaru on New Zealand’s South Island, in the summer of 1939, he spent his early life in and around the town, becoming a teller in the ANZ bank for five years, while also writing for the Timaru Herald under the byline “Dipstick”. In 1961, at the age of 22, he travelled to Europe with Denny Hulme and spent his time travelling around with the Formula Junior series. He then joined forces with Bruce McLaren, working as his secretary. This led to him being one of the founders of McLaren in 1963. He stayed with the team until 1966 when he returned to journalism writing an insider’s column about F1 for Autocar and later for Road & Track in the United States. Autocar would run his column for the next 32 years. He also worked in PR with Elf, Gulf and Ford and then in 1979 diversified into a lucrative new business, collecting and selling race motor racing memorabilia to the über-enthusiasts around the world. If you wanted something, Eoin probably had it, or knew where to find it. While he had a reputation for charging top dollar, Eoin also had a heart of gold although acts of kindness were always prefaced with the quiet warning “don’t tell anyone I did this”. It was thanks to Eoin’s generous nature that I acquired an original programme from the Monaco GP prize giving in 1929 because he knew of my fascination with the driver “Williams”. Over the years he wrote a total of 12 racing books, including the story of James Hunt’s 1976 World Championship, called “Against All Odds” and biographies Bruce McLaren, Denny Hulme and Chris Amon. He wrote two autobiographical works “It Beats Working” and “It Still Beats Working”. He won the 1996 Guild of Motoring Writers Timo Makinen Trophy for his outstanding coverage of motorsport and was one of a very select group of journalists who have been granted membership of the British Racing Drivers’ Club.

Eoin returned to New Zealand in 2006 but continued to write for a variety of outlets around the world.

His true legacy, however, will be the multitude of fans whom he inspired with his stories from the F1 world and those whom he encouraged to follow their dreams and become F1 writers, who today continue that work of spreading the word about their passion for the sport.

33 thoughts on “Eoin Young 1939 – 2014

  1. Nice tribute thanks Joe .I remember reading loads of articles by him all those years ago. Very interested in his autobiographies which I was completely unaware of.

    Enjoy your weekend and I wish you a safe trip back – that Prius (if you still have it) must have some serious mileage on it by now!

  2. Condolences to all those that knew him.

    “It Beats Working” was one of the first ‘F1 history’ type books I bought after stumbling upon the now sadly gone ‘Motor Books’ bookshop behind the Albery Theatre in London’s West End (they’re still around online).
    That fascinating read led me to subsequently purchase many more books and to discover that F1 hadn’t in fact started with James Hunt’s appearance on Blue Peter in 1976 (as it seemingly had for me)! Obviously culminating in the purchase of the equally fascinating ‘The Grand Prix Saboteurs’…

    So for starting that literary and historic journey for me I shall forever be in his debt.

  3. Thank you for a sensitive piece bringing sad news.

    I was certainly inspired, educated and entertained by Eoin Young´s writings, valuing his insight and objectivity.

    The legacy is a good one, thank you.

  4. This is such sad news, if not entirely unexpected. I always enjoyed reading his books and he was one of the writers who helped to consolidate my love of the sport in my formative years. Sincerest condolences to all his family and the many friends who had the privilege of knowing him.

  5. I remember reading his articles when I was young and he always was good value with his knowledge and foresight into the sport. Will be sadly missed by many. RIP

  6. Oh boy, is there going to be one party up in heaven when Bruce, Denny and Eoin get together!! I’m sorry to hear of his death, I first started reading his work in Autocar years ago and love his work and his two autobiographical books. I hope his family have many happy memories.

  7. This is sad to hear. I got my start as a fan of Grand Prix racing reading Eoin’s race reports in Road & Track as a young boy. My father always left them sitting on the hamper, by the toilet….er, I mean, in the reading room.

    Not only did I get an appreciation for the men and machines, but, also for the places visited. This got me started on a life long penchant for exploring the world.

    I had often seen his little box advert in the back of Motorsport, and meant to reach out to him to tell him of the effect that he had on me, but never got around to it.

    I regret that.

  8. Eoin got me into working in F1 around 1978 and I carried on working at many GP’s off and on until about 6 years ago. Thanks to him I have some very good memories of F1. RIP, nice, nice man.

  9. That is so sad. As a Kiwi I am so proud of the quality people such a small country produces for the sport. The 60’s and 70’s era especially produced some absolute stars both on and off the track – Eion was one of them.

    I was very lucky earlier this year to have the time to sit down and chat with Eion and Chris Amon at a meeting at Manfield before making the move here to the UK. Two of the nicest gentlemen on this planet and a meeting I will cherish for the rest of my life.

  10. Very sad to read this news. Eoin was a writer I have followed since I was a schoolboy. I have several of his books, all great reads. I am one of “the multitude of fans whom he inspired with his stories from the F1 world “

  11. Just one Eoin anecdote among so many…. In Detroit one year he was poking around the bookstalls at the back of the grandstand and saw something that interested him. On being told the price, he protested that it was far too expensive. The stallholder simply said: “Mr. Young, I took the price from your catalogue.”

    “Good chap,” Eoin replied. “Keep it up !”

  12. As a child, I used to nab my dad’s Autocar & “From The Grid” would be the first thing I’d read. Eoin helped fuel my love of F1 and I’m sorry he is no longer with us. Maurice Hamilton has also written a moving tribute. Rest well, Eoin. Thank you for remembering his life, Joe. I must seek his autobiographies.

  13. I remeber reading his columns in Autocar and Motor, lunches at the Barley Mow, and a barely concealed dislike for Nigel Mansell! A great writer who clearly loved the sport.

  14. RIP, and my thanks to his memory for entertaining me for decades. Hope someone in the comments phonetically reveals to me the correct way to pronounce his first name, which I never learned.

  15. What a shame, seems like a bad week for motorsport’s old guard. I used to read Eoin’s articles and usually there was a good laugh to be had from his observations….much like you Joe!

  16. 1939 was the Birth year selected by a group of so called experts as being the most advantageous for a chap to succeed with the least amount of roadblocks and competition to hinder his progress through life! I would say they were correct in judging Mr Young ‘s fun filled life ! Bravo for him and may he Rest In Peace.Cobber!

  17. I suspect that Eoin’s dislike for Nigel Mansell was fuelled in part by an incident in the 1980s when Mansell threatened to sue him over an article he had written about him possibly changing teams. Nigel did have a well-developed habit of picking arguments with guys whose employers often bought ink by the barrel.

  18. It’s a shame to hear of his passing, Three of the best books I’ve ever read are his biographies on Bruce Mclaren, Denny Hulme and Chris Amon.

    It’s also a shame the new Zealand media could right such a great piece on his passing.

    Great work Joe

  19. Wow, I’m saddened to hear this… I’ve enjoyed his writing for many decades…

    I’m also at a loss as to why I hadn’t heard of it already in the local (New Zealand) media?

Leave a comment